Encumbrance Certificate: Apply online, Documents Required

Encumbrance means a mortgage or other claim on property or assets and Encumbrance Certificate is a certificate issued on a property or asset which states that the property or asset is free of any liability or claim.

It is a very important certificate that you should demand while purchasing a property or asset, also, you’ll have to ensure that you provide this certificate if you are selling this.

So, both ways, you are required to submit the certificate. In this article, we will discuss Encumbrance Certificate: how to Apply online, Documents Required, etc.

But first, let’s find out what will be the details mentioned on an Encumbrance Certificate

Details Mentioned on an Encumbrance Certificate

The following are the details that are mentioned on an Encumbrance Certificate-

  • Name of the property owner
  • Property related documents
  • Aadhaar Card
  • PAN Card
  • Details mentioned on the sales deed
  • Name and dates of transactions made in a property for a specific period
  • Mortgage details, if used to avail of a loan or others
  • Signature of the Government Officer issuing the certificate
  • Details related to the undue about the property which is pending like House tax, etc.

The details mentioned on the Encumbrance Certificate will help you in finding details related to the property you are buying or if you are selling the property then it might help you in building confidence among the buyers.

This certificate mentions the 30 years of history of the property in detailed format, sales, purchase, mortgage, or any court case, etc. Knowing these details related to the property will help you in making rightful decisions.  

Types of Encumbrance Certificates

There are two types of Encumbrance Certificates issued by the Registrar, which are as follows-

  • Form 15: If the property has an Encumbrance Certificate at the time frame on which the resident has demanded the EC will be issued under Form 15.
  • Form 16: If the property has no Encumbrance Certificate at the time frame on which the resident has demanded the EC will be issued nil-EC under form 16.

How to Apply for Encumbrance Certificate Online?

You can apply for the Encumbrance Certificate online using the following methods-

  • Visit the official website of the Registrar of your state and under the service tab, you’ll find the tab for the Encumbrance Certificate
  • You’ll have to search for the Encumbrance Certificate using the search panel
  • In the search field, you’ll find the document number, memo number, and year of registration field wherein you’ll have to enter the details
  • After entering the details, you’ll find your Encumbrance Certificate document
  • After finding the certificate, you’ll have to upload the documents mentioned below as proof of possession of the property, sales deed, etc.
  • Now, you’ll have to pay for the service by clicking on the pay button and making payment online using your credit/debit, net banking, UPI, etc.
  • After that, verification of the request will be done and you’ll have able to download the Encumbrance Certificate easily

Documents Required for Encumbrance Certificate

The following are the documents required for the Encumbrance Certificate-

  • Address proof
  • Signature
  • Details of the property for which he is seeking an EC
  • A copy of the deed if a deed has been created for the property

Encumbrance Certificate Application Fee

The application fee for the Encumbrance Certificate is Rs.200/- which can be paid online using your credit/debit card, net banking, UPI, etc.


Who issues the Encumbrance Certificate?

The Encumbrance Certificate is issued by the Registrar of the district circle where the property is. if the state allows online EC, then you can visit the official website of the state or you’ll have to visit the E registrar’s office and fill out forms 15 o 16 to get your Encumbrance Certificate.

What does nil Encumbrance Certificate mean?

If there are no changes in the status of the property during the mentioned period then the “Nil Encumbrance Certificate” is issued. This means that no moneylender is involved with the property during this period also, no sales or purchases took place during that period.

Which States allow online Encumbrance Certificates?

Some states allow to fill out the Encumbrance Certificate online which are Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Kerala, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, and Uttar Pradesh.

How much time does it take to receive the Encumbrance Certificate?

To receive the Encumbrance Certificate, depends from state to state however, on average the Encumbrance Certificate can take from 7 days to 30 days.

Is EC important while purchasing the property?

Yes, EC is a very important document that you must demand from the seller to ensure that you do not purchase a liability instead of an asset.